Translating high quality research specific to better design and building practice

Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ Search


Home Modification Service levels and eligibility criteria for Home and Community Care (HACC) service users

Last Updated: 8th December 2018

To be eligible for a HACC funded service you must have a moderate, severe or profound disability or be caring for someone with the disability. People with a disability who already receive an equivalent service through another program are not eligible to receive a HACC service.

Some services are mostly for, or may give priority to, special needs groups who find it more difficult than most clients to access services. These groups include:

  • people from culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) backgrounds
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people
  • people with dementia
  • financially disadvantaged people
  • people living in remote or isolated areas

In essence the Home Modification Services are divided into 3 levels: Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3. These levels are determined by the funds that may be expended on a particular job.

The differences between the levels and the assessment process are outlined in Home Modification service type guidelines and may be found on the ADHC web site.

Please click here to go directly to ADHC site. (Please note this document is saved as a Portable Document Format (PDF) document, you will need to have a PDF reader installed on your computer. The Adobe Acrobat Reader is available free of charge from Adobe's website.)

Reads: 3251